Explorers News · All Star Preps – Best of Greater Akron 2020

The Akron Beacon Journal recently recognized the top high school athletes in the area with their 2nd annual All-Star Preps Best of Greater Akron feature.  A remarkable 26 Explorer athletes were recognized, across 13 different sports.  An absolutely incredible accomplishment for all of our athletes!
More impressively, the Explorers boasted a number of Player of the Year finalists, while taking home a pair of Player of the Year awards:
Reese Stiller was honored as the Player of the Year in field hockey.
Paige McCormick was honored as the Player of the Year in girls’ swimming and diving.  Additionally, Paige was a finalist for Female Athlete of the Year.
Check out the list below of 2019-20 Explorer athlete honorees.  Congratulations to each of the award recipients!
Andrew Goldslager, Cross Country – Boys
Titan Casey, Cross Country – Boys
Jack Root, Cross Country – Boys
Brenna Beucler, Cross Country – Girls
Emmaline Hanna, Cross Country – Girls
Reese Stiller, Field Hockey
Hanna Killeen, Field Hockey
Jacob Paltani, Football Offense
Jake Vidmar, Football Offense
Jarrett Widdoes, Soccer – Boys
Laura Nijhuis, Tennis – Girls
Sunny Fan, Tennis – Girls
Amelia Hoffmeier, Volleyball
Jack Burdett, Basketball – Boys
Logan Loeffler, Bowling – Boys
Brock Miller, Bowling – Boys
Julia Petty, Gymnastics
Luke Karnofel, Hockey
Alex Cole, Hockey
Caleb Tuckerman, Swimming & Diving – Boys
Seth Baylor, Swimming & Diving – Boys
Hunter Trautmann, Swimming & Diving – Boys
Paige McCormick, Swimming & Diving – Girls
Giovanna Cappabianca, Swimming & Diving – Girls
Mackenzie DeWitt, Swimming & Diving – Girls
Eliana Szabo, Swimming & Diving – Girls
To view this year’s presentation ,which includes some of the top athletes in the world, check out the link below.  It is an awesome experience!
The Akron Beacon Journal has transformed its annual Best of Greater Akron Preps Awards Show into a star-studded, on-demand broadcast, featuring some of the biggest names in professional sports. The show continues the annual tradition of honoring the best in local high school sports from the past year and is free to watch thanks to our event sponsors, Akron Children’s Hospital, FirstEnergy, and Wayside Furniture.
Hosted by sports broadcasters, Jesse Palmer, Sage Steele, Dr. Jerry Punch and Courtney Cronin, the show features some of the best professional athletes as award presenters. Players of the year are awarded in each sport and other special awards are given, including male and female athletes of the year. The show also features a tribute to seniors. Join us for an unforgettable experience celebrating the best in high school sports!